summertime

by madiwelch

Butler

Today I’m reminiscing about summertime. Possibly because it’s a gorgeous day; sunny, light breeze, lovely temperature for a winter month. Possibly because I love and miss that beautiful dog. Also possibly because sometimes I like to think back and see how my life unfolded to bring me to this point.

Summer recap

Recap from summer of '11

If you count things in terms of summers, they never seem as long ago.

Summer of ’06 – 15; babysitting; friends, friends, friends; hangouts at malls; looking forward to high school, cell phone, driving, dating

Summer of ’07 – 16; moved away from friends; sister bonding; lots of lifeguarding; dreading high school; looking forward to graduation

Summer of ’08 – 17; more lifeguarding; loved babysitting; loved sisters; ACT/SAT; looking forward to yearbook staff, graduation, college

Summer of ’09 – 18; coaching swim team; private swim lessons; weekend park job; college, college, college; looking forward to roommates, busy social life, college classes

Summer of ’10 – 19; loved swim team; loved swim students; lots of dating; extra sister time; looking forward to reunion with roommate, starting Comms major, deciding how I feel about “this guy”

Summer of ’11 – 20; married; more coaching; super fun swim lessons; family time; baby(and dog)sitting; cooking attempts; looking forward to London/Paris honeymoon, college graduation, eternity

Isn’t that crazy to think about?

Just six (almost seven) summers ago, I was 15 and wishing I had a cell phone. This coming summer, I’ll be graduated from college, working full-time and living in Idaho with the man of my dreams.

Who knew?

